Flora Kisuule

Johns Hopkins University,

Dr. Flora Kisuule is an Associate Professor at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.  She completed her Doctorate of Medicine in 2001 from the University of Minnesota, and a Master’s in Public Health in 2006 from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.  Dr. Kisuule is a Senior Fellow in Hospital Medicine. 

Dr. Kisuule trained in Internal Medicine at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.  Following residency, she joined the Division of Hospital Medicine in July 2004, and now serves as the Division’s Director.  She also serves as the Vice Chair for Clinical Operations for the department of medicine at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.  Dr. Kisuule co‐developed a hospitalist fellowship program for Johns Hopkins University; which she now directs.  She also developed and leads, an NP and PA hospitalist fellowship at Johns Hopkins Bayview.  Dr. Kisuule’s research interest and expertise are in Quality Improvement, Hospital Operations, Practice Management, and Program Building.  She has multiple publications in these areas.

Regionally, Dr. Kisuule has served as the Vice President of the Baltimore chapter of the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM).  Nationally she has served on several committees of the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM), facilitated and served as faculty at multiple SHM leadership academy, and has consulted on hospitalist programs around the country.  Internationally, Dr. Kisuule has developed and mentored hospitalist programs in Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Central America.  Additionally, she has helped develop training programs in hospital medicine in Panama. 

Dr. Kisuule’s has been recognized for her contributions in the field of hospital medicine through multiple awards including SHM Baltimore chapter “Hospitalist of the Year”, SHM’s national award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine; and Johns Hopkins “Medicine Excellence in Service and Professionalism”.  In 2019, she was elected to the SHM Board of Directors and is the current President-elect of the Society of Hospital Medicine.